Reviews

9.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.6
Comfort
9.3
Property location
9.1
Facilities
9.1
Staff
9.7
Value
9.0

Reviews

    Rita
    gb

    Review score

    10
    21 June 2018

    a B&B which far exceeds expectations and leaves one with splendid memories

    Nothing!
    We spent an outstanding overnight stay at Peonia. This is a highly unusual B&B — and we have stayed in many others. The owners are people with great aesthetic sensibility, and they have created a wonderful original and aesthetically exciting environment through their taste, skills and hard work. They have created a place which one can just wallow in, or can choose to learn from; we did both. Previously we have found it virtually impossible to find safe parking in this area — but here it was, and within splendid gardens. The breakfast was a visual as well as flavourful treat. Both the owners and their son were warm and welcoming. We absolutely could not have asked for more.
    Paul
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    19 June 2018

    Enjoyed our stay at Peonia

    Small en suite bathroom.
    Lovely family who were very helpful & friendly. Very artistic owners. 2nd floor en suite room, son helped with bags. Amazing breakfast with large choice of home made cakes, fruit and we were also offered cold meats cheese & eggs. Secure parking available.
    Robert Dellow
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    17 June 2018

    Great overnight stop

    The location was a hard to find.
    The very friendly staff, the room was very comfortable and clean and well furnished. The fruit salad served at breakfast was to die for. Would highly recommend this accommodation.
    karolina
    cz

    Review score

    9.6
    13 June 2018
    Wonderful breakfast!
    Kathleen
    gb

    Review score

    10
    27 May 2018

    Memorable. The host, the house, the staff were exceptional and could be described as a "one off".

    Nothing
    On arrival we were met by the Jean the son and could not have been made more welcome. Our vehicle was not standard size and he without hesitation took control guiding my husband into the private car park. Our room was lovely and the bathroom something else. It was so grand I thought we had to share it with other residents as it was separate i.e. next door to our bedroom! We had a funny conversation about that too. The house was amazing- I appreciate fine furniture and good taste and this ticked every box. I was so taken with the ambience I could have cancelled our trip to Italy and stayed there. The breakfast was another experience- home made, exquisite and cake that Mary Berry would die for... I rest my case. I have stayed in many places but this was memorable- not a word we use lightly. The host, their son and staff were truly sincere and made us feel very much at home. We cannot wait to return. Gary and Kathy Richards
    Jo
    kr

    Review score

    10
    24 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Tigran
    de

    Review score

    10
    22 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Bing
    de

    Review score

    10
    7 April 2018

    Amazing!

    Amazing house and host family, which made our stay so special and unforgettable! In my opinion, not any (even five star) hotel can offer such experience. Simply incredible.
    Titus MUNTEANU
    fr

    Review score

    10
    3 February 2018

    Magnificent

    A very beautiful house, full of character, very nice hosts, magnificent French breakfast. We will return here.
    Priit
    ee

    Review score

    7.5
    7 January 2018

    A gorgeous and comfortable establishment with an unfortunate twist

    This part is long mainly because I'd like to explain a bit. There were a few obvious faults to this establishment, and a few, which could have been misunderstandings, but still need to be pointed out. 1. Our room was on the top floor and the WiFi was not working on our floor. As we were staying over Christmas and away from our families, this was very frustrating, because we couldn't stay in contact with them through a messenger service, listen to Christmas music or watch Christmas movies on Netflix. The owners thought it was a problem with the divider (every floor has one) but to be honest, the WiFi was spotty and slow even when I was sitting right next to the router on the ground floor. I'm not sure if this was a one-off problem as the owners informed us or if the WiFi is generally bad. 2. The TV in our room wasn't working. After some close inspection we found that the wiring was wrong (the power chord was literally jammed into one of the screw sockets). I imagine one of the previous inhabitants messed it up, but it's up to the staff to make sure everything is working after each booking. Also, the TV remote didn't work. 3. You can only pay in cash *but* to their credit, they drove me to an ATM so that I could withdraw money. 4. The breakfast table is replete with homemade sweet dishes, but it lacked salty and warm options (we were only offered cheese and ham). It is quite possible, however, that you might be able to request these. Owing to point 5, we were quite reluctant to ask. 5. Communication with the owner was a bit tense. He mainly spoke French, which we actually quite enjoyed, because it gave us the opportunity to practice, but many times we also felt like we were annoying him? I think the owner takes his job very seriously and is proud of his establishment (which is understandable) so when we made a complaint about the WiFi we almost felt like we were insulting him.
    The house was gorgeous and historic with a charming garden. The owner explained the significance of the house to us, but since our French is a bit spotty, we only caught on to the fact that this house has a significant connection to Emile Zola! The location was pretty good (around a 15 minute walk to the central square). We booked a suite and the original room we were given was a two-piece, which we didn't like (both rooms were quite small and we were looking forward to a spacious bedroom) and the hosts immediately gave us a new room, which was very kind of them. The new room was very nice, spacious and warm with a comfortable bed and plenty of applications (blowdryer, kettle, coffee machine etc). The breakfast was very plentiful and homemade in a nice open setting, and was served at the time we requested. Coffee was also good (french press) and unlimited. :)
    Volkan
    tr

    Review score

    8.3
    13 December 2017
    Breakfast is for sugarlovers. I decided according to comments, but it was made of all sweety cakes and marmelates. It was not my style, there is no cheese or egg. Coffe is great. And owner made us perfect fruit salad. And all cakes and marmalades are homemade.
    Home like palace, stylish and room very comfortable. Owners have good hospitality, and there is private garage.
    Martin
    fr

    Review score

    9.6
    8 November 2017

    Perfect

    Great private accommodation, located in quiet residental part just 5 mns walking to the old town. Owners are absolutely fantastic, homemade breakfast with private servis, very nice rooms... overall just perfect.
    RAFAEL
    es

    Review score

    10
    1 November 2017
    Amazing stay with an amazing family. Stunning home made breakfast. Shame it was a short stay!!! Definitely recommended!!!
    be

    Review score

    9.2
    31 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Paul
    gb

    Review score

    10
    28 October 2017

    Outstanding value and exceptional quality

    Breakfast was exceptional with home made products and a wide selection. The owners were very welcoming and helpful with reservation at a local restaurant. Accommodation is luxurious and the home stunning!
    GEORGE
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    12 October 2017

    A very memorable stay in this wonderful home.

    Perfect and very helpful hosts at this lovely B&B. We loved the mix of old and contemporary in the house and furniture and the comfort all this offered. We were also lucky enough to partake in Andrea's fabulous cooking, not only for breakfast but we organised dinner as well and this was defintely a treat.
    Moshe Hesed
    il

    Review score

    10
    10 October 2017

    Se mangefique

    Nothing everything was must comebackable. Gret location. Tony and Adrea very knowledgeable about local restaurants and attractions.aMazingly amazing
    The proprieters Tony and adrea were beyond unbelievable. Warm friendly accomodating
    Julian
    gb

    Review score

    10
    6 October 2017

    I will be back.

    Not the easiest place to find but so worth it.
    An absolute joy. Walls full of original artwork, a house full of character and history and a breakfast table full of well sourced and homemade delights.All delivered by a generous and welcoming couple.
    Gwynn
    us

    Review score

    2.5
    4 June 2018

    The worst experience of all my travels. I have never been mistreated so badly

    She wasn't there, she had gone away and didn't let us know.. THanks to a neighbor we were able to discover that she was not at the B&B, or we could have been waiting even longer. We had waited for 2 hours already!!
    NOthing
    Gary
    us

    Review score

    10
    5 May 2018
    Nothing,it was by perfect
    The breakfast was wonderful and the table settings looked like it was out of a beautiful picture book The staff was very welcoming.
Loading reviews